Posted by: geekycrochetmom | March 3, 2012

The family that threads together…

Crochet thread, not yarn, abounds in our locale. It’s size 8 & available in different colors if you know where to look. With time, I have learned to use two-ply to make them chunkier & easier to work with.

The trick is fishing out the other end that is hidden well within the ball. This particular brand comes rolled around a piece of cardboard tubing which makes this trick more challenging.

image

So I crush the ball so that the tube becomes crumpled & small enough to be pulled out of the ball. It’s not easy looking for the other end as it may become dangerously entangled.

image

That’s when my loving hubby & the girls come to the rescue.
See the Big Girl doing all sorts of acrobatic tricks while helping me? Funny.

image

With their help, instead of ending up with one big mess, I have this beautiful ball of two-ply cotton thread.

image

I just love them!

Responses

  1. That’s great that your family is up to helping you out with your thread! Have you ever heard of Navajo knitting? It turns your skinny yarns into 3-ply and you can do it as you crochet so you don’t have to enlist your family if they aren’t around. Here’s a video I found that explains it pretty well: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X1-ZAuw0tik I use it sometimes to make hats with sock yarn and things like that.

  2. Oh and you don’t have to pull from the other end, I forgot to say that.n 🙂

    • Wow, that was brilliant! Thanks for this very helpful tip. And do you know I’ve also tried working with 2 balls of the same color at thesame time? Quite cumbersome. Thanks again! =)

      • No problem! I used to do the same thing so I know exactly how frustrating it can be to use 2 balls at the same time, 🙂

  3. If you do this often, you may want to invest in a ball winder. They can be as low as $24, with shipping, when Joanns has an on-line sale. 🙂

    • Thanks for the tip. Love what you do for foster kids. And your ripple afghans & ‘wall of yarn’… wow! =)

  4. You’re welcome.
    Thanks for dropping by my blog!
    Yeh, my house is kind of overflowing with yarn… and ripples. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

