Posted by: geekycrochetmom | May 24, 2012

(Wo) Man’s BFF

Yesterday, I craved for some me-time and went out on a walk around the village with Peanut.

image

She tugs on her leash for the first few minutes of the walk, then she relaxes and we enjoy the stroll. I made sure to explore the small nooks of the village’s pocket gardens.

image

She sniffed, and trailed, and sniffed some more. It reminded me to stop and take time to “smell the roses”, so to speak.

image

Have I told you I’ve trained her to sit on command? And she does it now sans treats. Such a good puppy, this Peanut. She has grown from 3.5 kg to 9 kg in less than 2 months! I just love her, dog hair and smell and all.

image

We did not confine ourselves to the walkways. Nosiree. We crossed grassy areas and chanced upon dozens of toads, much to her delight (it was a bit  stressful as I had to make sure she didn’t grab one of these toads; could be poisonous, right?).

image

Peanut engaged in a staring feat with one of the toads. (Can you see the tiny toad in the picture up there?) Guess who won? Of course, my golden retriever can be frisky sometimes, while her new-found acquaintance was as still as a statue, not a blink. (Do toads blink?! I’ve completely forgotten anatomy from my zoology classes. I can’t believe we dissected frogs – and turtles, and cats, and… arrgh, you wouldn’t want to know… blech).

image

We chanced upon a bunch of mushrooms that seemed to have arranged themselves in a circle in the middle of a grassy field. Fascinating.

image

On our way home, we stopped to admire this beautiful sunset. What a perfect ending to our afternoon walk.

image

Leave a Reply

Categories

