Posted by: geekycrochetmom | June 9, 2012

Happily Spent

Lately, the days seem reeeeally long. Lying in bed at night is bittersweet – sweet because bedtime offers much-needed respite; bitter (just a little) as I count the remaining available hours of sleep on my fingers. On one hand.

Ironically, or should I say logically, the end of days when I feel truly spent are those that I consider the happiest. Productive. Meaningful. Worthwhile.

Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE worry-free vacations. Though lately they have been few and far between. But the kind of days I’ve been having lately – with hours spent attending to the kids – makes me feel so alive. It’s an awakening to the important albeit belated realization that my mission in this life is indeed two-fold: my being a physician and (more importantly) motherhood (and “wife-hood”, too).

Amidst the sore back (from carrying groceries), eyestrain (sleep deprivation), and slightly disheveled hair, I feel truly blessed and immensely grateful.

If only I could sneak in just a little crochet time…  =p

Leave a Reply

Categories

