Posted by: geekycrochetmom | August 12, 2012

Of glowsticks & granny squares

Last week, our country (parts of it) was beset by floods caused by the monsoon. The damage was unbelievable. We were grateful our area was spared but thousands of families were not as lucky. Now everyone is trying to pitch in, each in his/her own small way.

At the homefront, the virus has been making the rounds and was being passed around like the olympic torch. Fever, stuffy noses, headaches, colds. Woke up like a zombie every few hours – giving meds, sponge baths, feeding & hugging. For now, except for a few sniffles, everyone’s better. =)

But wow! What a great weekend it’s been so far.

I’ve finally finished the Little Girl’s Granny Square Blankie.

image

image

image

It’s been getting some use and love.

image

Then, hubby and I, together with my sister and brother-in-law, had a blast last night at the Tears for Fears concert.

image

My arms are still sore from the fist-pumping and glow-stick raising. It was worth every peso! Per Sorensen of Fra Lippo Lippi was great… what a sweet guy. Carina Round had an awesome voice… got to watch out for her – cool & funny girl with impressive guitar-playing. And that voice!

image

image

image

Can’t get their songs out of my mind right now. Happy, happy!

Now with the songs playing in the background of my brain – time for some real-world tasks: driving the girls to piano lesson, reviewing for exams this week, patient rounds.

Have a great week!

(Tears for Fears at the Smart Araneta Coliseum, Manila August 11, 2012)

Responses

  1. wow! i love the blanket! adorable 🙂

    • Thanks, Xin! =)

      • i really admire you! nagawa mo po yan… bukod sa matagal ng gawin mahirap pa. 🙂 pattern palang ang hirap ng basahin.. 🙂 ang galing tlga. :)) ask ko lng po what method you used to connect the granny square? like ko din ng ganyan :)))

      • Salamat. I crochet a bit at a time. Amidst work and kids, it’s my therapy =)
        That’s the good thing about granny squares; they’re portable and I can make one or two wherever eg, while waiting for my kids at Kumon, hehe.
        I use Lucy’s method BUT instead of using slip stich, I use single crochet — it forms this lovely ridge at the back and adds character to the blanket… that’s just me. =) You can do this! Kailangan lang sipag at tiyaga. And don’t forget to deal with your ends as you go along or else matatambakan at nakakatamad lalo. Good luck sa granny squares mo! Thanks ulit.

  2. Your newly finished ‘blankie’ is beautiful! I love how my eyes jump from square to square to square because there are so many happy colors and combinations to look at. 🙂

    • Thanks, Linda! What a nice thing to say. Now my 6-year-old complains about the “holes” in her blanket. Kids! Soon as time permits, will start on a ripple. =)

  3. Did you make both of the blankets that the girls were using while they slept? Both very cute. If you have it I would love the pattern for the simple line one. I’m not very good at looking at something and saying oh that’ll be a good one.
    Thanks for sharing your work with us.

    • Hi, Lori! Thank you for taking the time to come & visit. Yes I made the blankets – I used Lucy’s pattern for the stripey one. Here’s the link. http://attic24.typepad.com/weblog/granny-stripe.html
      Good luck, I know how debilitating migraines are… I get my share though not that often. Love that you’re crocheting for charity. =)

      • Thanks for the pattern. I’ll put it up and check it out. Thanks for the shout out about Lapghans of Love. I used to do scarves before venturing into bigger pieces of work. But my daughter kept stealing the ones I’d make to donate. She was to replace what she took with one of her own that she made (she is the true artist with hooks and sticks) but she never did. So this has helped me have something to donate. 😀

  4. What an absolutely gorgeous blanket! So pretty!

    • Thanks so much. Love your crochet projects; your granny squares are pretty! Please give Moo a warm pat for me =)

    • Thanks for the kind words. =)


Leave a Reply

Categories

