Posted by: geekycrochetmom | November 21, 2012

Secret Dreams

image

Yesterday, hubby was sick so he worked from home. We sat in bed together, he on his laptop, me with my crochet project & his ipad.

Out of the blue, he asked, “Ano dream mo, hon?” (what’s your dream, hon?). Before he could run away from me (hehe) I found myself blabbering on & on about how I’d love to stop being a doctor & spend my time on crafty pursuits & our family. Of how I’d love to put up an etsy shop, assuming I’d gather enough guts, & projects, & ideas, & talent (gasp). Of how I’d love to have a farm like Kate of FoxsLane.  Of why — I was almost out of breath by this time being almost carried away by my excitement — I spend my precious time trawling blogs (on my google reader) & Instagram, oggling at people’s projects & craftsy lives filled with custom orders & craft markets & project swaps. Why I treasure these online & Instagram “friendships” with like-minded people from all over the world… oh the beauty of technology. So amazing!

Hubby was listening intently. I was surprised he didn’t think I was out of my mind. I then told him it was his turn to tell me about his dream. Turns out he dreams of going to culinary school & cooking to his heart’s content. Fascinating.

These dreams are do-able but not,do-able at the same time. You know what I mean? There are kids to raise, tuition fees to settle, loans to be paid. People have expectations that need have to be met.

Happy are the people who find their passion & are able to make a living out of it.

I don’t believe in lotto and don’t mean to sound ungrateful to God (I have to say our family has been immensely blessed in so many ways) but I am sooo tempted to buy a ticket & wait for good luck so we can begin to live our dreams.

Responses

  1. Love it!
    Hey what are you working on in the picture?

    • Thanks! I can’t spill the details right now because it’s a present for someone special. Let’s just say that I used baby camel yarn & the project is designed by Doris Chan =) Can’t wait to finish it!

  2. me, i dream of buying the adjacent lot so i can have a bigger garden where apos can ran and play and have a bamboo playhouse, where A n G can barbecue while the three of us are just sitting and munching anything. also ta have a big garage for three cars which can be used by handmaids for training and assembly:)


Leave a Reply

Categories

