Posted by: geekycrochetmom | February 25, 2013

First Attempt at Blocking

image

Up until now, I have always been using small balls of mercerized cotton thread size 8 for crochet. In the advent of local online yarn sellers, crocheters in the Philippines have been introduced to different kinds of yarns that are relatively easier on the budget (compared to mall shops and online stores from other continents). Hooray!

This huge spool of yarn that just sits there and unwinds itself as I work makes me so happy. (Insane, right?). No wrangling with and chasing after balls that jump about as I crochet.

The 5-ply, off-white acrylic has been my companion for the past couple of days. I have fallen in love with it but, like most loves who come with not-so-endearing traits, it puzzles me why I ended up with wrinkly edges. (Was it because it’s not as elastic as my old cottony  friend?).

image

Thus, my first attempt at blocking. After having spent hours (for the past months) reading blogs & Ravelry discussion forums, I haven’t made up my mind – does one block acrylic? Will steam blocking work? Won’t it melt right into the rubber mat? (Lastly, aren’t there more pressing concerns in the world than these?) =p

image

Anyway, I opted for wet blocking. After having taken the picture above, I fixed the rightmost edge and oh-so-gently coaxed and pulled it into as straight an edge as I and the pins can manage.

I know staring at it will not make it dry faster. So I better go upstairs and grab another WIP while watching more Criminal Minds and scare myself out of my wits.

Responses

  1. Looks worth the effort. 🙂

  2. I ADORE hearing about people being cosy, crocheting or knitting away in front of their favourite shows 🙂

    • It’s right up there on my list of favorite things, together with curling up with a good book. Thanks for taking time to stop by!


Leave a Reply

Categories

